Follow us on Twitter

Go Back   Panther Nation > Specific Sports Topic Forums > Panther Men's Sports

Panther Men's Sports Discuss all men's sports not covered by specific forums.

Old 10-06-2014, 11:10 AM   #1
ProwlingPanther

Default AD upset about student turnout

Glad it isn't just a UNI problem. Cool to see Mich St be proactive with this challenge. I wish UNI was more proactive in addressing this issue. Of course, winning games and having relevant programs helps.

http://espn.go.com/college-football/...tudent-section
ProwlingPanther is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2014, 01:15 PM   #2
Trapped in California
Escaped from CA

Default Re: AD upset about student turnout

The customer is always right. Find a way to entice the students to stay, other than an attempted public shaming.
Trapped in California is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2014, 01:39 PM   #3
Panther-Sheik

As a business owner I can tell you that the customer definitely isn't always right. But you do have to figure out how to work within the confines of your customer and their attitudes. That is something that is rapidly evolving and devolving in college (and pro) athletics. It will be interesting to see where this all goes. Schools have been expanding their stadiums to try to get "bigger and badder" while ticket sales, especially student sales, have gone down year over year at many schools. I only see this attendance trend worsening and maybe the new norm becomes smaller stadiums and bigger tv contracts. In a way it is a fitting result for these big schools that have sold their souls to TV for the huge checks but now can't get people to stop watching the exact thing that is paying them millions and millions to actually come and support their teams in person.
Old 10-06-2014, 02:58 PM   #4
Trapped in California
Escaped from CA

I know the customer is not always right (Business owner for 11 years) - they just need to buy into the idea that you believe that maxim.